This is the website for Winnipeg, Manitoba four piece futurekids.

The band is made up of Joshua Benoit (guitar/keys), Nicholas Friesen (bass), Ian Peters (drums) and Gareth Williams (vocals).

Having worked on various projects together over the last decade, including a Degrassi tribute/charity album and a number of films/videos, futurekids is the first time these members of Enjoy Your Pumas, Merch Table Delite, Ex Modern Teen and Lonely Hunters have properly performed together.

The band’s debut seven song EP, Say Goodnight to the Machines, is due out in September 2014. Recorded and mixed by Benoit and mastered by Jamie Sitar (Destroyer, A.C. Newman, D.O.A., You Say Party), the record delivers a diverse collection of positive yet melancholy shoegaze-infused pop.

Featuring songs about Charles Schultz (“Inservice”), print media (“Alt Street Weekly”), autistic superheroes (“Captain Furniture Valley”), the student/teacher relationship (“Quiz Show”), watching Gilmore Girls for the first time (“A Billion Hundred”) and a pair of tunes that tie-in with Friesen’s in-progress graphic novella (“Olivia Sea”, “Merit Badge”), it’s as diverse a debut as you could ask for.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s